Scottish Women's Football

My personal blog on Scottish Women's Football

The Structure of Scottish Women’s Football

Women’s Football in Scotland has adopted a summer season, running from March to November – with the 2015 season beginning on the 15th March 2015 from the Premier League, and the 8th March 2015 for the First and Second Divisions. The games are played on Sundays.

There are three tiers of Women’s Leagues in Scotland:

Scottish Women’s Premier League

The top flight consists of twelve sides, and each side plays 21 matches over the season. The league implements a split after eleven matches, after each side has played each other once. These fixtures are scheduled to finish by the end of June. This is the only division that implements a split.

Then, the bottom six sides will play each other both home and away, and the same is replicated with the top six sides. The bottom two sides of the Premier League are relegated to the First Division.

The Champions of the League qualify for the UEFA Women’s Champions League Qualifying Round.

Now the side that has dominated Women’s Football in Scotland is a Glasgow side, not one of the Old Firm teams – but Glasgow City.  Since 2009, they had won the Premier League nine times, and since 2000, they have won the Scottish Women’s Cup seven times. Since they were only formed in 1998, their history is remarkable.

Glasgow City’s domestic domination is so great that they nearly went six years without a league defeat. This remarkable defeat came to an end when Spartans won 1-0 on the 21st September 2014. In 2012, 2013 and 2014 they have also achieved the domestic treble.

But they have hit the national headlines mainly due to their European exploits. In November 2014, after beating Zurich 5-4 on aggregate in the Round of 16, they became the first Scottish side to reach the UEFA Women’s Champions League Quarter-Final – where they play Paris, with the First Leg on the 22nd March 2015.

Below is the 2014 Scottish Women’s Premier League Table:

(CL)= Qualifies for UEFA Champions League (r)= Relegated to the First Division


SCOTTISH WOMEN’S Football League 1st Division

The second tier consists of twelve teams and is the highest tier where you can find reserve teams competing – such as the Celtic U20s. Although the top two clubs are promoted to the top flight, if one of those teams are a reserve side of a Premiership club – they can not be promoted, and the 3rd side will get promoted.

Before the 2014 season, the side Kilwinning withdrew so each side only played 20 games, instead of the normal 22. Unlike in the Premier League, there is no split involved.

The 2014 Champions were Falkirk Ladies, who have since become Stirling University – after they entered into a partnership with the University. This marked an immediate return to the top flight after being relegated the previous season. The runners-up were Celtic U20s, therefore it was the third placed Hearts who were also promoted.

The bottom three clubs are relegated to the Scottish Women’s Football League Second Division Regional Leagues. After the 2014 season, Cowdenbeath Ladies closed as a club.

Below is the final First Division Table for the 2014 season:

(P) = Promoted to the Premier League (r) = Relegated to the Second Division


The third and final tier of Scottish Women’s football has 45 clubs split into four regional leagues:

  • East/Central
  • North
  • South East
  • West

The four champions enter a promotion play-off, although as what happened in 2014, it is possible for the champions to refuse promotion. Dee Vale, who had won the North Division, refused promotion – so the best second placed team, Hearts Development, entered the play-offs. This was decided on their points/match ratio – 2.667 points/match. Hearts had only been denied the South East title by an inferior goal difference.

The 2014 Second Division Play-Offs were played at Alloa Athletic’s Recreation Park, and only consisted of one match:

First Round:

Hearts Development 1-1 East Fife Ladies (East Fife Ladies won 8-7 on penalties)

Mill United 3-5 Boroughmuir Thistle

The winners of the First Round (East Fife Ladies and Boroughmuir Thistle) achieved promotion to the First Division – they then play each other in another play-off to determine the overall Second Division Champions.

The losers (Hearts Development and Mill United) have a second chance, and play each other is a second play-off to determine the third promoted team.

Second Round:

Hearts Development 1-4 Mill United

East Fife Ladies 0-5 Boroughmuir Thistle

Due to the regional aspects of the leagues, once promotion and relegation to/from the First Division has been decided, clubs sometimes swap between the four Second Divisions.

Below are the final four 2014 Scottish Women’s Football League Second League Tables:

Second Division East/Central                                            Second Division North 

(P) = Promoted through the Play-Offs

(P) = Promoted through the Play-Offs

Second Division South-East                                             Second Division West

(P) = Promoted via the Play-offs (C) = Promoted via the Play-offs & overall Champions (Pl) = Qualified for Play-offs, but failed to get promoted

(P) = Promoted via the Play-offs
(C) = Promoted via the Play-offs & overall Champions
(Pl) = Qualified for Play-offs, but failed to get promoted

Next in the series, I will look at the Women’s Domestic Cup competitions.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on February 16, 2015 by in Scottish Women's Football and tagged , , , , , , .


%d bloggers like this: