Scottish Women's Football

My personal blog on Scottish Women's Football

Scottish Women’s Cup Feature

Brief History

The competition goes back to the 1970-71 season, preceding the formation of the Scottish Women’s Football Association in 1972. Due to the UK joining the European common market, causing the country to fall under anti-discrimination laws, the policy of banning women’s football being played at football grounds was lifted by the SFA with the SWFA recognised in 1974. This, however, was not to say that the SFA approved of the women’s game during this point at all. In fact, when UEFA held a vote to decide whether the women’s game should be developed by them, of the 32 countries it was only Scotland who voted against the motion.

Unfortunately, it is difficult to track down the results of many of the finals before 1995. For example, it is believed that Edinburgh Dynamos LFC won the tournament seven consecutive times between 1975 and 1982 – but this has never been confirmed.

This is not to say that there is not information about the early finals. For example, we know the first final was played on the 18th April 1971 at Riverside Park in Dundee – which Stewarton Thistle (who became FC Kilmarnock Ladies) beat Aberdeen Prima Donnas 4-2 after being 3-0 up at half-time. The second final was played at Reid Gear Park in Linwood on the 5th November 1972 where Edinburgh Dynamos beat Cambuslang Hooverettes 5-3.

Since 1994, the details are clearer where Hutchison Vale beat Cumbernauld United. Cove Rangers then won the next three finals, including a cracking match where they beat Ayr United 5-4.

City’s opponents today Kilmarnock Ladies appeared in three consecutive finals between 2001 and 2003. They won the first two: beating Ayr United 3-2 on penalties and then beating City 5-0. Unfortunately, they couldn’t make it three in a row as they lost to Hibernian Ladies 5-4 on penalties.

That final marked the start of the recent period where the Scottish Cup has either been won by Hibernian or Glasgow City. City’s first Scottish Cup triumph came in 2004 came in 2004 where they beat Queen’s Park 3-0. During this period, Hibernian won the trophy 5 times – whilst City have won it 7 times, including the last four tournaments.

Finals Since 2003

2003: Hibernian Ladies 2-2 (a.e.t) Kilmarnock Ladies – Hibs wins 5-4 on penalties
2004: Glasgow City 3-0 Queen’s Park
2005: Hibernian Ladies 8-0 Cove Rangers
2006: Glasgow City 5-1 Aberdeen LFC
2007: Hibernian Ladies 5-1 Glasgow City
2008: Hibernian Ladies 3-1 (a.e.t) Celtic Ladies
2009: Glasgow City 5-0 Rangers Ladies
2010: Hibernian Ladies 2-1 Rangers Ladies
2011: Glasgow City 3-0 Hibernian Ladies
2012: Glasgow City 1-0 Forfar Farmington
2013: Glasgow City 1-0 Hibernian Ladies
2014: Glasgow City 5-0 Spartans

2014 Review

The Current Holders of the Scottish Cup are Glasgow City

The Current Holders of the Scottish Cup are Glasgow City

The 2014 Scottish Cup began with the Preliminary Round on the 20th April, with 55 teams entered into the draw. 30 of the teams entered the Preliminary Round with the other 25 been given a bye into the First Round. Both the Preliminary and First Rounds only involved the Scottish Women’s Football League Teams. Kilmarnock had been knocked out in the Preliminary Round by Cumbernauld Colts 4-2 on penalties, after drawing 4-4 a.e.t.

The Second Round saw the twelve Scottish Women’s Premier League sides entered, with the games played on the 22nd June. This round saw two SWPL sides knocked out: Renfrew beat Queen’s Park 5-2, whilst Glasgow City triumphed against Celtic 2-0.

The Third Round ties were played on the 17th August, with an astonishing result seeing Rangers beating Falkirk FC 22-0. It also saw two more SWPL side being knocked out: Spartans knocked out Forfar Farmington 5-2 and Falkirk Ladies defeated Hutchison Vale 3-1. City progressed by beating Celtic U20s 7-0.

In the Quarter-Finals, there was only one non-SWPL side left was Falkirk Ladies, but this was where they journey ended as Hibernian Ladies beat them 6-1. City’s progression also continued as they defeated Hamilton Academical 11-0.

Both Semi-Finals were played on the 19th October at Ravenscraig and featured only SWPL sides, with both ties ending in one sided results. Glasgow City beat Hibernian Ladies 4-0, thanks to two goals from Suzanne Lappin and one each from Morgan Marlborough and Susan Fairlie. Aberdeen initially took the lead against Spartans through Rachel Small, but goals from Lana Clelland and Claire Crosbie and two from Sarah Ewens saw the Edinburgh side reach the Final.

The Final was played at Broadwood Stadium on the 16th November. City secured the domestic treble as two goals from both Fiona Brown and Jo Love and a strike from Denise O’Sullivan secured a 5-0 victory over Spartans.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: